Click to view Profile
Surbhi Goel

Surbhi Goel

notes from an unformulated print of life

i am the spitting orange sky
waiting to be born in your dreams and frustrations
do not reject me
i will not come your way again
nor will love

this, this, this…and this

this human-ness this skin
     this molecular web
     this blood droplets
filled with passion and exhaustion
this is irreal and wonderful : together

this utterance wild wild
this innocuous meaningless profundity
this articulation from depths unfathomed
this viscous orgasmic urge
this is irreal and wonderful : simultaneously

this very unnaturalness
this very yearning, disappointment
this very anticipation, cynicism
this very excitement, ad nauseum
this is irreal and wonderful : forever

this confirmation : togetherness is all
this tender bestial proclamation
this is “irreal and wonderful”

this clamour, also this indifference
this conviction, also this endless dilemma
this not knowing where we are at
this also knowing ( all too well) where we might lead ourselves into

this assurance, this doubt
this crash, this flight
this this and this beautiful, uncorrupted, sensitive, brutalized, hopeful, disgusted,
disinterested eagerness

this is “irreal and wonderful”



Charanjeet Kaur: Editorial

Sara Aboobacker in Conversation with Ayshath S R

Srinivas Reddy: Sanskrit at the Opera

Literary Articles
Kinshuk Majumdar: Amitav Ghosh
Kusumita Datta: Kashmir and its Story Tellers
Rachel Bari: South Asian Poetry
Sonal Jha: Arun Kolatkar

Book Reviews
Dustin Pickering – ‘No Waiting Like Departure’
Gagan Bihari Purohit – ‘For You to Decide’
Purabi Bhattacharya – ‘Himalaya: Adventures, Meditations, Life’
Revathi Raj Iyer – ‘I won’t give you a leg up, Mr Death’
Sapna Dogra – ‘An Ode to Shimla’
Subashish Bhattacharjee – ‘Agniputr: When Agni First Spoke’
U Atreya Sarma – ‘Wakes on the Horizon’

Ambika Ananth – Editorial Note
Arnab Mukhopadhyay
Bidyut Bhusan Jena
Madhab Chandra Jena
Maithreyi Karnoor
Mithlesh Kumar Chaudhary
Robert Beveridge
Sujit Mukherjee
Surbhi Goel
TS Hidalgo
Varun Rajaram

U Atreya Sarma – Editorial Musings
Akshat Joshi – ‘New World’
Ananya Sarkar – ‘The Cats’
Eva Bell – ‘Entrapped’
Humera Ahmed – ‘A Different Sky’
Neera Kashyap – ‘As quiet as a feather falling’
Reema Tripathy – ‘Is Love the Reason?’
Sahar Raza – ‘Sacrifice’
Sukla Singha – ‘Fury’
Sunil Sharma – ‘The Shrinking Man’

Copyright ©2017 Muse India