Telugu Writer Ravuri Bharadwaja gets Jnanpith

Eminent Telugu novelist, short story writer, poet and critic Ravuri Bharadwaja (b.1927) was selected for the prestigious Jnanpith award for the year 2012 for his contribution to Telugu literature. He was chosen by a selection board chaired by noted poet Sitakant Mahapatra, himself a Jnanpith awardee. He has the distinction of receiving State Sahitya Academy Award twice in 1968 and 1983 and Central Sahitya Akademi Award in 1983.


Bharadwaja is the third Telugu to be chosen for the honour, after the late Viswanatha Satyanarayana for Ramayana Kalpavruksham (1970) and C Narayana Reddy for Viswambara (1988). The 86-old writer has to his credit 37 collections of short stories, 17 novels, six short novels for children and eight plays.


Bharadwaja embellished his writings with distinct characteristics in his inimitable style, diction, portrayal and narration.  His novel Paakuduraallu is a masterpiece that presents a graphic account of life behind the screen in the film industry. Another novel Kadambari is equally acclaimed as an outstanding work. His other notable works are Jeevana Samaram, Inupu Tera Venaka and Koumudi.


Born in Moguluru village of Paritala Jagir under the former Hyderabad State, Bharadwaja later moved to Tadikonda village in Guntur district. His formal education lasted only till Class VIII but his literary prowess got him honorary doctorates from Andhra, Nagarjuna and the Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University. He worked as a journalist in several publications and as a script writer with AIR.


(Based on report in The Hindu, Apr 18, 2013. Photo credit -

Copyright 2017 Muse India