30 Jan 2017: Goirick and Radhika receive Muse Awards at HLF

Muse India Young Writer Awards given at HLF-2017

The Muse India – Satish Verma Young Writer Awards for 2016 were given on Jan 29, 2017, the concluding day of the Hyderabad Literary Festival 2017 held at the Hyderabad Public school. Speaking on the occasion, Mr G S P Rao, the founding Managing Editor of the reputed literary web journal, Muse India, said that the Young Writer awards were instituted to recognise and reward outstanding young writers in the country. They are given in the categories of poetry and fiction.

The following were the winners of the awards for the year 2016:

  1. Poetry: Goirick Brahmachari for his book ‘For the love of Pork.’
  2. Fiction: Radhika Maira Tabrez for her debut novel ‘In the Light of Darkness’ and  Karan Mahajan for his novel ‘The Association of Small Bombs’ (Joint Winners).

The award carries a certificate of recognition and a cash prize of Rs 10,000 to each winner.

Noted poet Arundhathi Subramaniam gave away the awards to Goirick Brahmachari and Radhika Maira Tabrez. US-based Karan Mahajan was not present to take the award.

In the photo above: From left – GSP Rao, Goirick Brahmachari, Radhika Maira Tabrez and Arundhathi Subramaniam.

(Report submitted by GSP Rao on 30 Jan 2017.)

Copyright 2017 Muse India