Nov 22: Jammu Kashmir Cultural Confederation formed

Srinagar, Nov 21: After marathon deliberations, representatives of over 50 organisations working for the promotion of Kashmiri language and other areas of culture across Jammu & Kashmir state, Saturday launched the Jammu Kashmir Cultural Confederation (JKCC) after adopting its constitution.

At an extraordinary meeting presided over by veteran poet and Gyanpeeth awardee Prof Rehman Rahi, discussed the draft constitution formulated by a committee and adopted it after which an ad-hoc Executive Committee was set up. The meeting attended by representatives of over 50 organisations working in Srinagar, South and North Kashmir, Chenab Valley, Pir Panchal and Jammu discussed in detail the need for putting all heads together to further the cause of the language. The constitution drafted by a committee was also discussed and adopted with consensus. 

Prof Rahi was elected Chief Patron and noted writer Ghulam Nabi Khayal Patron of the Confederation. Prominent writer and journalist Dr Shujaat Bukhari was nominated as the Chairperson of JKCC with the mandate to nominate the ad-hoc body till the formal elections were held. “It is a huge responsibility but I will try my best to come up to the expectations of the members who reposed faith in me,” Dr Bukhari said after being elected Chairman. “It is a historic day for Kashmir language and culture and I hope this move yields the desired result,” he added.

An executive committee and an advisory council were formed. The executive committee nominated six vice presidents, a general secretary, five secretaries, a treasurer and a spokesperson. They are Ali Shaida, G R Hasarat Gadda, Manshoor Banihali, Shehbaz Rajourvi and Nasim Shifai (all vice presidents; the one for Jammu would be filled later); historian and writer Prof Farooq Fayaz (general secretary); Waheed Jeelani (treasurer); and Mohammad Amin Bhat (spokesperson). Ashraf Raavi, Ayash Arif, Bhawani Bashir Yasir, Suhail Siddiqui and Abdul Ahad Hajini are the secretaries of JKCC with different responsibilities.

The members of the executive committee are Sheikh Mohammad Yaqoob, Nasim ul Haque, Ghulam Ahmad Sofi, Izhar Mubashir, Riyaz Khaki, Gulab Saifi, Ateeqa Bano, Hameedah Shah, Ehtisham Butt, Dr Rafeeq Masoodi, Mushtaq Ahmad Mushtaq, G N Shahid and Shabir Hussain Shabir. 

The Advisory Council headed by chief patron Prof Rehman Rahi has G N Khayal as patron. The members are Prof Zaman Azurdah, A K Rehbar, Rafiq Raaz, B N Betab, Iftikhar Bazmi, Shameem Dev Azad, Mohammad Sayeed Malik, Iftikhar Gilani, Makhan Lal Kanwal, Prem Nath Shad, Fayaz Dilbar, Rukhsana Jabeen, Prof Nusrat Andrabi, Kailash Mehra, Zamir Ashai, Santosh Naadan, Prof Iqbal Nazki, Rajesh Raina, Aseer Kishtwari and Bashir Bhaderwahi.

Report by: Ali Shaida, Srinagar, Kashmir, Nov 22, 2015,

Copyright ©2017 Muse India