Click to view Profile
Maaz bin Bilal

Mail to a friend

Maaz bin Bilal


To Sridala Swami and Winter 2014–15

She says yesterday’s faded-denim sky
of many washes
brought down leaves that
were not choked with dust.
My sky today was a crumpled khakhi
with dirt like the Sirocco’s,
but in still air, without its strong breeze,
only its dust.
Her dust-free leaves flew around,
settled on the ground, were
picked up again,
by the wind, and made
patterns, did rounds.                      
No current moves the cloud
settled over our heads here.
The leaf my nephew picks up, and navigates
around with, playing with it like a plane
in his hand, will not lose that
of dust,
that’s settled!
Delhi is one thick haze
of that cheap opium den,
where everyone’s an addict
of toxic scum.                        
26 March 2015
Old Delhi
Is it the dirty yellow of an alcoholic’s piss?
Would you call this the grimy brown of dry sods of earth?
Does it match the stained phlegm of my chain-smoking friend?
Is it the dour grey of the smoke left in the wake of Diwali rockets?
Does it remind you of the mushroom clouds after the bombs in Aleppo?
It is heavy, it smells, it makes my nose twitch and swell, and my eyes water,
and overtakes my senses such that I no longer can tell my colours, even the greens
on view from my window appear military.
3 November 2016, in Sonipat, close to Delhi.


Feature–Contemporary Indian English Poetry

    Editorial: GJV Prasad

    Abhay K
    Aishwarya Iyer
    Akhil Katyal
    Amlanjyoti Goswami
    Ananya S Guha
    Arup K Chatterjee
    CS Bhagya
    Debasish Lahiri
    Devdan Chaudhuri
    Dhananjay Singh
    Gertrude Lamare
    Goirick Brahmachari
    Joie Bose
    Maaz bin Bilal
    Malsawmi Jacob
    Meera Sagar
    Nabina Das
    Nitoo Das
    Priya Sarukkai-Chabria
    Rajesh Kumar
    Ranu Uniyal
    rizio yohannan raj
    Rochelle Potkar
    Saima Afreen
    Sanjeev Sethi
    Semeen Ali
    Shelly Bhoil
    Smeetha Bhoumik
    Srilata K
    Sudeep Sen
    Sukrita Paul Kumar
    Sumana Roy
    Tabish Khair
    Taseer Gujral
    Uddipana Goswami
    Usha Akella
    Uttaran Das Gupta
    Vivek Narayanan
    Linda Ashok

Copyright 2017 Muse India